Mamiya RB67 Pro SD Medium Format user reviews : 4.5 out of 5 - 25 reviews - photographyreview.com (2022)

USER REVIEWS

Next 10

Showing 1-10 of 25

[Oct 11, 2021]

Janwil

Strength:

Love the quality! Keep it up | Floor Refinishers

Weakness:

None so far

OVERALL
RATING
5

[May 05, 2021]

katelinx

Strength:

It is my first to buy a camera and I must say that I did the right decision. I makes you think and expand your creativity. | Residential Dumpster

Weakness:

Absolutely nothing to say.

Purchased: New

OVERALL
RATING
5

[Feb 16, 2019]

Monday317

Strength:

Mamiya RB67 is THE best manual 6 x 7 film camera system available period. Bellows focusing of lens eliminates optical issues with helicoid focusing, and the lenses render subjects with clarity and realism. Plenty of lens choices and accessories for every conceivable need. Pro SD eliminates light leaks at film backs, used quality resin (OK, plastic) body parts to reduce weight, but frame still built from solid metal. Built like a tank, good for any MF use, other than covert detective work...

Weakness:

Built like a tank; lighter than heavier models. Should use a tripod where possible, handheld only for lumberjacks. Some compatibility issues for some Pro SD components if mating with older models desired.

(Video) Shooting with the Mamiya RB67 - First Impressions

Purchased: Used

OVERALL
RATING
5

[Jan 29, 2009]

hudi82

Intermediate

Strength:

- good format
- rotatable back
- complete system
- good lenses
- high sync speed

Weakness:

- big and heavy
- hard to use in the field
- dark lenses
- not very well balanced in the hand
- no 6x6 back, no 35mm panoramic back

I bought this camera out of curiosity because I was kinda bored with 6x6 and heard wonders about 6x7 and out of Bronica and Mamiya I went with Mamiya because there were simply more of it on the market.

This is a seriously BIG camera, 2x bigger and heavier than my Kiev. I was totally surprised by this. I'm a quite strong person but I have problems holding it still with the metering prism thats why I don't use it :-)

The best think I like about this camera is the rotating back, its so easy to use and is very handy something I'd never give up for. The film backs are kinda delicate, the 2 that I own have old seals that I need to replace and have some platic parts broken off and the winding isn't perfect etc, but the biggest problme with them (at least 1) is that the film counter doesn't trigger after exposure and I often inadvertantly get double exposures which are horrible considering there are only 10 exposures per roll.

The lenses are pretty big and heavy, optically are very good (my 50mm and 127mm are quite dirty inside and one has even water mark after some dude badly cleaned it). I can see quite a lot of details on my slides. The only problem that I see is that the lenses are quite dark 3.5 the brightest. Compared to my Carl Zeiss Lenses for Pentacon, Mamiya lenses are much darker (2 stops) but optically are at least comparable. They have built in Seiko leaf shutters that can sync with flash at any speed and are the reasons I bought them. Also they all have the same filter size of 77mm (except 50 and 65mm lenses I think) which is great.

The focusing needs getting use to as its a knob like in TLRs and focusing is done through a bellow. Its quite precise and can be focused by both hands. The down part is that the bellow looses light if extended too long and needs to be compensated.

The view finder is bright and large with lines for both verticle and horizontal positions. However the standard ground glass doesn't have a split prism for focusing and it might take some time to get a perfect focus with the dark lenses. The waist level finder is what I use and it has a large lens that makes the focusing a lot easier. The Prism is VERY heavy and I think its rather dark and the metering is rather cumbersome so a external meter is required.

All in all, its a very nice system with many lenses and possibilities.

[Mar 03, 2007]

Tony

Professional

Strength:

Robust feal, the lense, it's fun, fun , fun to use. Makes you think and expand your creativity.

Weakness:

Nothing.

Got this monster (I mean this in a good way) from Ebay for a super price as a whole kit and I am still buying accessories for it. I love the weight, I love the film size and I love the fact that this camera is allowing me to get back to thinking about how I photograph instead of shooting from the hip and looking at my view finder. I love digital, but this is so much more fun. I have 2 other medium format camera's, this actually is the easiest to use.

Customer Service

(Video) Mamiya RB67 Pro SD Medium Format Film Camera Review | Analog Dialog

Mamiya's website only. Great website and easy to use.

Similar Products Used:

Mamiya C330, Yashica 124G

OVERALL
RATING
5

VALUE
RATING
5

[Dec 22, 2005]

magoo

Intermediate

Strength:

Cheap, durable, reliable, and it has never let me down

Weakness:

Heavy

Love this camera. It is much bigger than most mf cameras but it is solid. Once you get everything down pat it becomes second nature. cock the shutter, then advance the film then push the shutter and repeat. The pictures I take are tack sharp depending on the lens. You hear all the time, I have a hasselblad, the hasselblad takes the best pictures, but you know what? Try and tell the difference between plus accessories and lenses won't break the bank. Also if you have the opportunity to get the 150mm sf lens, get it. I love that lens, some beautiful shots were made with that lens.

Customer Service

never needed it.

Similar Products Used:

mamiya c33

OVERALL
RATING
5

VALUE
RATING
5

[Apr 18, 2005]

DaveKasdan

Expert

Strength:

Presence--absolute, imposing presence of a real photography rig. Crystal clear images and no limits to creating great photographs.

Weakness:

Parts and accessories are getting rare. Forget having it fixed--just look for replacements save the costly repair expense.

(Video) A Beginner's Guide To The Mamiya RB67

From the second I looked through the pop-up view finder...in love with this camera! It took me about 2 rolls to work out the mechanical processes and be comfortable with the controls. I feel like a macho adventure photographer using this tank out in the field. The image quality is outstanding--the straight contact prints are gorgeous. If you want to think about your shots and really practice "previsualization" and Zone work, then this is the kit to use. Was fortunate enough to get the 90mm and 180mm lenses for free from a retired pro and friend, then filled out the kit with a second body and accessories. Now I have one whole RB67 with the 90mm lens and a speed grip, the other body sports the 180mm lens and is worn with the neck strap. Carry it all with 3 different film backs, filters, etc. in a big bag and nobody stands in my way.

Customer Service

Emailed a question to corporate and had a response in 24 hours! Excellent!

Similar Products Used:

No other MF cameras.Plenty of 35mm, from full manual to P&S.

[Sep 15, 2003]

peguin

Expert

Strength:

every thing looks amazing toothe rotating back is its greatest asset

Weakness:

the cocking levers (only a tiny thing)

the rb67 pro sd is amazing i was told to definatly get another rz pro2 after mine was stolen but i didnt and am so glad. i am only young (17) but i have had alot of experiance with possibly every current pro camera and have grown around fashion shoots and had a play with any camera i have ever come into contact with and this is the best nothing comes close except an rz. but this will last longer than a rz ever could the quality of the images it has always produced for me are inceadible and it stands up to any abuse thrown at it. buy it if you can

Customer Service

never needed

Similar Products Used:

mamiya rz67 pro , mamiya rz67 pro2 , hassenbald 500

OVERALL
RATING
5

VALUE
RATING
5

[Apr 18, 2003]

Todd Walker

Professional

Strength:

Big negatives!, sharp lenses, very affordable to buy it and accessories on the used market. Rotating back. No batteries or electronics to worry about.Fairly quite operation. Good solid construction and very reliable.

(Video) Is the Mamiya RB67 Pro SD worth it in 2022?

Weakness:

One of the most heavy cameras made (when prism is attached), but not bad with a monopod for support. No problem when using tripod. Much light in weight if using waist level finder instead of prism.Top shutter speed of only 1/400 sec.

This review is actually for the Pro-s which I purchased used. Great camera! Produces awesome results when big enlargments are needed from prints. I also love the rotating back, never have to turn camera sideways for vertical shots. Bellows mounted lens allows for close focusing. Lots of accessories available for this camera. Very quick and easy to change focusing screen.Big camera that produces excellent results when used for it's intended purpose. Don't try using for fast action style shooting (use a smaller lighter camera for that).

Customer Service

not needed, but excellent user forum on website.

Similar Products Used:

Mamiya 645 Pro-tl, 6451000s, Pentax 6x7, Bronica GS-1, Bronica ETRS, Hasselblad 500C

OVERALL
RATING
5

VALUE
RATING
5

[Mar 21, 2003]

Maroc7

Expert

Strength:

See above

Weakness:

None

Mamiya RB67 Pro-S Want one? Heres the rub... This camera has been called the workhorse of the photographic industry for many years with good reason. It has often been linked as guilty by assumption, with studio work, product and commercial photography only; due to it's robust size and weight. The idea that this camera is unweildly outside the studio invironment is only true for those perhaps not prepared to utilize this baby to it's fullest potential. That and they might lack moral fibre and upper body strength!This particular review relates to the RB67 Pro-S specifically. I bought this beast as new a few years back from a Studio Portrait photographer with 40 years in the business. The camera came with a f3.8 127mm Mamiya Sekor lens, 120 roll film holder, pop up view finder with a 2+ diopter and a speed grip for hand holding with top mounted hotshoe.My 35mm outfit barely gets a look in anymore because I always hike this beast everywhere I go. The big neg in 6x7 is so impressive that I have become totally absorbed by the MF culture and approach. I had a vision for larger formats that my 35mm images were not able to provide in results. So when I took my RB into the mountains and rainsforests shooting waterfalls and coastal scenics, what I got back in E6 jumped off the light box in a way I had never seen before. I was sold!Don't be told that this camera isn't meant for outdoor work or landscapes, this camera is a standard in the Landscape and Scenic photographic culture. If weight is an issue for you and you can't stomach anything heavier than a 35mm camera then the Rb may not be for you. The RZ is a little lighter but then you have other issues of a non mechanical nature to deal with.The RB67 Pro-S has a series of locking features which prevent you from making accidental exposures. You have a bellows system for focussing which allows a macro function with nearly all lenses. For more details on these features I recommend you go to www.mamiya.com and download a manual in PDF. This camera was ten years old when I bought it and it has behaved flawlessly since then, with nary a hickup. Shutter speeds may be a little on the slow side for some at 1/400th to 1 sec; but I have never needed anything above 1/125 for what I do anyway.If you are buying a new RB67 in the Pro-SD area then you are in for some fine lenses. In the past there were some manufacture tolerance issues with a couple of the old C and non C lenses. Some people called them soft and others got a sharp optic. Those days are over and the new lenses, particularly the 50mm, which suffered the worst reputation over the years are now top quality and in line with the new design KL lenses.Some people still complain about lack of edge to edge sharpness regarding 50mm 4.5 lenses, but many have failed to understand over even operate the fine focus ring which controls critical DOF. ...Getting the most out of your 50mm...There are a couple of lens' in the Mamiya RB family which require you to manually adjust the select focus ring on the lens itself to correct for critical depth of field.As with a standard lens, adjust focussing by turning the focussing knob on the camera body. Merely turning the floating ring will not produce accurate focussing. Next, read the distance to subject, set the distance scale of the floating ring to the cener index mark (red dot), and then take a picture. Floating ring may be set either before or after focussing. When turning the floating ring, a portion of the lens system is shifted to the front and rear; however, no variations can be observed on the ground glass focussing screen.When placing emphasis on spur of the moment snaps, set the infinity mark (red) of the floating ring to the center index mark (red)when the distance to subject is from infinity to 7ft (2 metres).If the distance to subject is less than the above a sufficiently sharp image can be attained merely by setting 3.3ft/1m (red) to the index. In the case of close up photography nearer than 3.3ft, set the floating ring to 3.3ft then stop down the lens as much as possible. Distance to subject implies the distance from film place to subject.Notes for those looking to buy with the aim of Studio and Commercial work... RB67 Pro-S and 127mm f3.8CYou can easily shoot portraits with this lens but if you want to go for a longer focal length then you can. There are some lenses that are softer than others so depending on your purposes, when buying, be aware and try them out first as this could be just what you want or not the thing at all.I would suggest two lenses to begin with, but if you can only afford one, then you can't go wrong with the 127mm which ought to come stock with an Rb. You have a choice of view finders which range from the pop up viewer or the PD Prism. With the pop up finder you have a choice of plastic diopters which serve to magnify the image on the glass. If you are mainly doing commercial and portr

Similar Products Used:

Various MF

OVERALL
RATING
5

VALUE
RATING
5

FAQs

Is the Mamiya RB67 worth it? ›

The Mamiya RB67 sets the standard for an affordable 6x7 medium format film camera. If you've never shot 120, it's an incredible experience. Think of it like an all manual 35mm film camera that has so much more perceived resolution when viewing two photos at the same size, you'll never want to go back.

What is the difference between Mamiya RB67 and RZ67? ›

The biggest difference between RB67 and RZ67 is that the RB67 is completely mechanical. The RZ67 has also mechanical couplings between the parts, but the shutter is electronic, and parts are able to transmit exposure information with electronic couplings.

Is Mamiya RB67 medium format? ›

The Mamiya RB67 Professional SD is a modular medium format SLR film camera famous for its versatility and big beautiful 6x7cm format images.

Is 120 film still available? ›

120 film is still a very popular medium format film, especially with the recent popularity of the Holga. The 120 film format was originally introduced by Eastman Kodak for its Brownie No. 2 in 1901. The 620 roll film was the same size, but didn't have a spool and is discontinued.

What happened to Mamiya? ›

The original company, doing business as Mamiya-OP, continues to exist and makes a variety of industrial and electronics products.

Is there a digital back for Mamiya RB67? ›

The digital back supports a number of analog cameras, including the Mamiya RB67, 645, and C330, Rolleiflex Automat, Bronica Etrsi, and others.

Is Mamiya RB or RZ? ›

The RZ is the better body; the shutters are electronic, the shutter speed can be set in 1/2 stops up to 8 seconds, the film advance lever cocks the shutter & advances the film in one stroke, as opposed to two with the RB. The 110 lens is much better than the 90, no question.

What film does the Mamiya RZ67 use? ›

The Best Medium Format Film Camera - Mamiya RZ67 Review - YouTube

Is 220 film still available? ›

Although 220 film is no longer being produced, we are still happy to process any expired 220 film. Unlike 120, there is no backing paper behind the film itself, just a leader and a trailer.

What film for at is a Mamiya RB67? ›

The Mamiya RB67 PRO S is a high quality medium format 120mm film camera for 6x7 format photos. It's recommended to have a good understanding of photography and film photography before picking this camera up.

How heavy is an RB67? ›

The RB67 is a medium format camera that weighs in at a hefty 2,690 grams with a 127 mm lens and 120 magazine attached. Its sheer size and weight can make handheld shooting difficult but a quick tripod attachment will easily solve that issue.

What is the difference between Mamiya RB67 Pro S and SD? ›

Not much difference between the Pro-S and the Pro-SD. The one main difference is that the newer KL lenses will all fit the Pro-SD, but the 500mm and the 75mm shift KL will not fit the Pro-S. Otherwise, everything is interchangable between them.

What lenses work with Mamiya RB67? ›

Mamiya RB67 + 127mm f3.8 Lens, 6×7 Film Back + WLF
  • Alpa.
  • Bronica ETR.
  • Bronica GS1.
  • Bronica SQ.
  • Fuji.
  • Hasselblad.
  • Holga Cameras.
  • Kiev 60.

How do you shoot with a Mamiya RB67? ›

Location Photography on the Beach - Mamiya RB67 first shoot - YouTube

Why is 120 film cheaper than 35mm? ›

Because it is a larger film, this means each roll contains only 16 shots instead of the 36 shots on a 35mm film. You know what that means – yep, it's way more expensive to shoot 120mm. You have to purchase more rolls to shoot the same amount of frames.

How much does it cost to develop 120 film? ›

120 and 220 medium format film developing, printing and scanning.
120 / 220 E6 film processing
120 film developing$5.99
220 film developing$7.99
4x5 or 5x5 prints at time of processing60c
120 roll scan to CD$7.99
23 more rows

Can you still buy 110 film? ›

Because of its unique feel and grain, photographers continue to use the last batches of 110 film. You can buy 110 film at Film photography Store or Lomography. Lomography re-introduced slide film for 110 with their Peacock 200 ASA model.

Does REI love Mamiya? ›

Mamiya was initially attracted to Kenshiro, but he did not reciprocate her feelings. She helps Kenshiro to find Toki, discovering that he is imprisoned at Cassandra. Rei falls in love with her and kills Yuda during his dying days to avenge Mamiya's honor.

What is the meaning of Mamiya? ›

husband's or wife's maternal aunt.

Is Mamiya same as Phase 1? ›

Mamiya is a trademark licensed by Phase One A/S. All other brand or product names are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective holders.

What is a digital back for medium format? ›

The new digital back is a quick, low-cost way to get a medium format body producing pictures again and stop it from gathering dust, and it does look like it has the potential to be a lot of fun. Other specs for the new back include: RAW-format shooting, Full HD video including slow-motion, burst shooting at 10fps (max.

What is a large format digital camera? ›

It's any camera with an imaging area larger than 8×10 inches. In other words, each individual sheet of film – and it is film rather than digital, unless you're NASA – is substantially larger than a standard sheet of printer paper.

Can you attach a back to a medium format camera that will capture images digitally? ›

Both digital and film SLRs have interchangeable lenses. You can attach a back to a medium-format camera that will capture images digitally. Video cameras are basically just sophisticated extensions of still cameras.

How much does a Mamiya RB67 weight? ›

Mamiya RB 67 Pro SD Camera Body
Camera type6x7cm format Leaf Shutter Revolving Back Bellows Focusing Single Lens Reflex
Interchangeable Film MagazinesRevolving Back Dark Slide Pocket Dark Slide Safety Interlock
Size4.1 x 5.7 x 9.2 inches (104 x 144 x 233mm)
Weight5.9 lbs. (2690 g.) with 127mm lens and 120 magazine
9 more rows

Can RZ67 used RB67 lenses? ›

You can definitively work with RB67 lenses on the RZ67 body, it's just that the setting of speed dial on the camera's body is irrelevant, because you set the shutter speeds on the lens itself (unlike the Sekor Z lenses, the RB's lenses have an extra ring where you set the shutter speed).

What is the difference between Mamiya 645 Super and Pro? ›

645 Pro. The 645 Pro was introduced in April 1992. The most important difference in the features of the Pro and Super is that the Pro does not have a mechanically-timed shutter speed, so the camera cannot be used at all with an exhausted battery.

Is the Mamiya RZ67 worth it? ›

I recommend the Mamiya RZ67 to anyone looking to get into medium format and is looking for a different shooting experience than your standard SLR style camera. It is so easy to fall in love with and won't let you down!

Does Mamiya RB67 need batteries? ›

Battery: AA-Type alkaline manganese battery or Ni-Cd battery x 4 (for 120 Roll film: approx. 40 rolls).

What is a Phase One camera? ›

Phase One is a Danish company specializing in high-end digital photography equipment and software. They manufacture open platform based medium format camera systems and solutions. Their own RAW processing software, Capture One, supports many DSLRs besides their backs.

Can I use 120 film in a 220 back? ›

On the Rapid Omega 100, 120 film will work in a 220 back, if a little awkwardly; but this is probably specific to each brand/make of backs. 120 film is thicker than 220, BTW.

Why is it called 120 film? ›

120 film is so named because it was the 20th daylight-loading roll film on flanged spools that Kodak produced. It's a numbering standard that began with 101 and continued on until we reached 120, which “survived the test of time and is the only medium format film still being produced today.”

Is 127 film still made? ›

127 enjoyed mainstream popularity until its usage began to decline from the 1960s onwards in the face of newer, cartridge-based films. However, as of 2020 it survives as a niche format and is still in production.

How much does a Mamiya c330 weight? ›

1 430 g

How much does the Mamiya 7 weigh? ›

Mamiya 7 II
Camera type6 x 7 format rangefinder with interchangeable lenses
PowerOne 6V PX28 alkaline silver oxide or lithium (4SR44, 4LR44 or 2CR1/3 lithium) battery
Dimensions/Weight159 x 112 x 123mm (6.2 x 4.4 x 4.8 in.) 1210 g (2.6 lbs.) with 80mm lens
5 more rows

What aspect ratio is Mamiya RZ67? ›

A favorite of many a famed photographer, (Rankin, etc.), the 6×7 format of the RZ67 has always been thought of as the “perfect format”.

How heavy is a Hasselblad 500cm? ›

600 gms

What mount is Mamiya RB67? ›

Lenses. It takes lenses with the RB mount which is a bayonet type system with a locking ring.

Are all Mamiya lenses compatible? ›

All seven of the manual-focus Mamiya 645 cameras can use the same lenses and film inserts (film spools). The two generations use different viewfinders, grips, and other accessories that are not always cross-compatible.

How do you shoot a Mamiya c220? ›

How to use a Mamiya C220 Twin Lens Reflex Medium Format Film Camera

How do you shoot a Mamiya rz67? ›

MAMIYA RZ67 PROFESSIONAL - GETTING USED TO IT - YouTube

How much does the Mamiya RB67 weight? ›

Mamiya RB 67 Pro SD Camera Body
Camera type6x7cm format Leaf Shutter Revolving Back Bellows Focusing Single Lens Reflex
Interchangeable Film MagazinesRevolving Back Dark Slide Pocket Dark Slide Safety Interlock
Size4.1 x 5.7 x 9.2 inches (104 x 144 x 233mm)
Weight5.9 lbs. (2690 g.) with 127mm lens and 120 magazine
9 more rows

How do you shoot a Mamiya c220? ›

How to use a Mamiya C220 Twin Lens Reflex Medium Format Film Camera

What lenses work with Mamiya RB67? ›

Mamiya RB67 + 127mm f3.8 Lens, 6×7 Film Back + WLF
  • Alpa.
  • Bronica ETR.
  • Bronica GS1.
  • Bronica SQ.
  • Fuji.
  • Hasselblad.
  • Holga Cameras.
  • Kiev 60.

Is a RB67 a SLR? ›

The RB67 Pro SD is a complete mechanical SLR camera system which accepts interchangeable viewfinders, interchangeable multi-format film backs which can be rotated and a comprehensive list of lenses and accessories.

What lens mount is Mamiya RB67? ›

Nikon F Mount SLR Camera

Is 220 film still available? ›

Although 220 film is no longer being produced, we are still happy to process any expired 220 film. Unlike 120, there is no backing paper behind the film itself, just a leader and a trailer.

How do you roll a medium format film? ›

120 Medium Format PHOTOGRAPHY | GETTING STARTED - YouTube

How do you put 35mm film in a 120 camera? ›

Preventing film “wobble” is easy. Take a second 120 film spool, insert a piece of 35mm film into it, center the film, and wrap some lengths of tape at the edges of the film, leaving enough space so that the film can still be inserted freely.

Videos

1. I Bought a New Medium Format Camera | Monthly Favourites
(Sophia Carey)
2. First Portraits with the Mamiya RB67 + 127mm lens + HP5 (B/W 120mm film)
(Menelick Akoto)
3. Mamiya RB67, with 75mm shift lens
(Christian Liebenberg)
4. Building a Polaroid Back for the Mamiya RB67 ||| Analogue Studio Conversion Kit
(Jess Hobbs)
5. 3 Most Essential Accessories For Mamiya RZ67/RB67
(This Designed That)
6. How to Load Film: RB67 Pro-S
(GPV Photography)

You might also like

Latest Posts

Article information

Author: Errol Quitzon

Last Updated: 10/31/2022

Views: 6022

Rating: 4.9 / 5 (79 voted)

Reviews: 94% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Errol Quitzon

Birthday: 1993-04-02

Address: 70604 Haley Lane, Port Weldonside, TN 99233-0942

Phone: +9665282866296

Job: Product Retail Agent

Hobby: Computer programming, Horseback riding, Hooping, Dance, Ice skating, Backpacking, Rafting

Introduction: My name is Errol Quitzon, I am a fair, cute, fancy, clean, attractive, sparkling, kind person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.